2019 Equity Summit

Rituals of Resistance


Congratulations to the 2019 Social Justice Award winners:

Award for Community-Engaged Scholarship and Activism

Portrait of Jeanelle K. Hope
Jeanelle Hope
Cultural Studies, Ph.D. Candidate
UC Davis
Portrait of Kaozong Mouavangsou
Kaozong Mouavangsou
School of Education, Ph.D. Candidate
UC Davis


Award for Seeding Improvements in Education Policy and Practice

Portrait of Margarita Berta-Avila
Dr. Margarita Berta-Avila
Professor of Education
Sacramento State University
Portrait of Nicole Anderson
Nicole Anderson
Educational Equity Consultant
Nicole Anderson Consulting


Ubuntu Award for Inspiring Social Change

Portrait of Sandy Holman
Sandy Holman
Culture C.O.-O.P. and
United in Unity
Portrait of Raquel Aldana
Raquel E. Aldana
Associate Vice Chancellor for
Academic Diversity
Professor of Law
UC Davis


Brandon Harrison Youth Leader and Youth Organizing Award

Portrait of Valentin Sierra
Valentín Sierra
Evaluation Assistant
Sacramento Native American
Health Center, Inc.


Lifetime Achievement Award for Embodying Equity and Diversity

Portrait of Rahim Reed
Rahim Reed
Associate Executive Vice Chancellor, and Interim Lead of the Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
UC Davis